Ateho  Elekma

V50 Cruise control installation

• 4 Vastauksia
  • 4570 Lukukerrat

0 jäsentä ja 1 Vieras katselee tätä aihetta.

Poissa secretwpn

• Luxe
  • www.vrcf.fi
V50 Cruise control installation
« : 08.06.2016, 10:42:36 »
Hi guys!
I'm relatively new to the Volvo crowd (briefly had s40 classic some years ago, but was a BMW guy ever since) but now I'm back to owning a basic 2005 V50.
It is otherwise pretty neat little car, but no cruise control option is really killing me on a long trips.

Is there any chance to add this feature to the car?

From what I've understood - the parts themselves (buttons and wiring if needed) are quite cheap, but to enable the feature you'll have to update the firmware or something like that and most likely you are heading to the official dealer that will ask you to pay half the price of car for just enabling one software feature. Is it really like that or am I under wrong impression?

Also from BMW I remember that quite often you have some local guys with INPA or other software tools that can connect to OBD2 socket and change some software in your car for relatively cheap. Is there such an option for Volvo or is it so that only officials have the proper tools?

Appreciate any input, thanks in advance!

Poissa Jukka79

• Grand Luxe
Vs: V50 Cruise control installation
« Vastaus #1 : 08.06.2016, 18:40:35 »
Hi!
You have understood correctly: buttons to Cruise Control are quite cheap, wiring perhaps needed, but what it needs after that is a software and the software costs. I have no idea what it might cost but here is an example: Just changing the language of the car costs over 200 euros, luckily that includes labour.